Honorary Muses

Every year, the Krewe of Muses honors one distinguished woman with New Orleans connections who embodies the spirit of Muses. The Honorary Muse earns a coveted position in a 17-foot tall, fiber optic, red high-heel shoe at the beginning of our parade. These women have distinguished careers and inspire New Orleans women and future Muses, and we are honored to have celebrated Muses tHERsday with these goddesses.

Margaret Orr

2024 Honorary Muse Margaret Orr

Nationally recognized and locally adored WDSU Chief Meteorologist Margaret Orr will serve as the Honorary Muse for the 2024 Krewe of Muses parade, krewe captain Staci Rosenberg announced. Margaret Orr will be riding as Honorary Muse…

Meet the Muse ››
Irma Thomas

2023 Honorary Muse Irma Thomas

Irma Thomas the “Soul Queen of New Orleans” is most deserving of leading the Muses. She embodies the attributes and spirit of the nine muses, she is our own Euterpe,…

Meet the Muse ››
swin cash

2022 Honorary Muse Swin Cash

Swin Cash is most deserving of leading the Muses. Balancing extraordinary leadership with activist passions, she embodies the attributes and spirit of the nine muses. Krewe of Muses Captain, Staci…

Meet the Muse ››
jennifer coolidge

2020 Honorary Muse Jennifer Coolidge

“Jennifer Coolidge is most deserving of leading the Muses. We’ve spent 20 years trying to make the people of New Orleans laugh and earned a reputation for our wit and…

Meet the Muse ››
patricia clarkson 2019

2019 Honorary Muse Patricia Clarkson

Patricia Clarkson is the quintessential New Orleans girl and most deserving of leading the Muses for a historic second time. We are proud of her accomplishments then and now. The…

Meet the Muse ››

2018 Honorary Muse LaToya Cantrell

“The Muses organization is among the best of New Orleans,” Cantrell said. “Muses delight in inclusion, creativity, and pure fun. These strong and thoughtful women also have an 18-year tradition…

Meet the Muse ››
tamron hall 2017

2017 Honorary Muse Tamron Hall

Today, the Krewe of Muses announced that award-winning journalist Tamron Hall will serve as the Krewe’s Honorary Muse for the 2017 parade. As Honorary Muse, Tamron will lead the carnival…

Meet the Muse ››

2016 Honorary Muse Solange Knowles

Today, the Krewe of Muses announced that New Orleans resident, Solange Knowles, the singer/songwriter, founder of Saint Records and noted creative director will serve as the Krewe’s Honorary Muse, Solange…

Meet the Muse ››
Chef Sue Zemanick

2015 Honorary Muse Sue Zemanick

Today, the Krewe of Muses announced that Sue Zemanick, Executive Chef at Gautreau’s and Ivy, will serve as the Krewe’s Honorary Muse. Chef Sue Zemanick began her culinary career at…

Meet the Muse ››
julia reed

2014 Honorary Muse Julia Reed

Today, the Krewe of Muses announced that Julia Reed, contributing editor at Elle Décor and Garden & Gun magazine, will serve as the Krewe’s Honorary Muse. Reed also contributes to…

Meet the Muse ››
Ruby Bridges

2013 Honorary Muse Ruby Bridges

The Krewe of Muses announces that Ruby Bridges, lecturer and founder of the Ruby Bridges Foundation will serve as the Krewe’s Honorary Muse. The Ruby Bridges Foundation’s mission is to…

Meet the Muse ››
Patricia Clarkson

Muses 2012 Honorary Muse Patricia Clarkson

WNOL NEW ORLEANS – N.O. native and award-winning actress Patricia Clarkson has been named the Honorary Muse for the 2012 season, the krewe announced Thursday. Clarkson will lead the parade from the…

Meet the Muse ››
Liz McCartney

2011 Honorary Muse Liz McCartney

Our 2011 Honorary Muse is Liz McCartney, Director of Development and Co-Founder of St. Bernard Project, a non-profit organization that rebuilds storm-damaged homes and lives in St. Bernard and Orleans Parishes.…

Meet the Muse ››
Mary Matalin

Muses 2010 Honorary Muse Mary Matalin

The Krewe of Muses has named Mary Matalin as Honorary Calliope, Muse of Epic Poetry.  The 2010 featured muse is Calliope, traditionally known as the Muse of Epic Poetry. The name Calliope translates to “beauty of…

Meet the Muse ››
Kim Rivers Roberts

2009 Honorary Muse Kim Rivers Roberts

Melpomene, Muse of Tragedy – Kimberly Rivers Roberts Kimberly Rivers Roberts is the star of the award-winning Katrina documentary “Trouble the Water,” with first-person footage during the storm shot by…

Meet the Muse ››
Marva Wright

2008 Honorary Muse Marva Wright

Polymnia, Muse of Sacred Song – Marva Wright Known as Louisiana’s Blues Queen, “Marvelous Marva” is a gospel and soul powerhouse. She has performed in venues all over the world…

Meet the Muse ››
Brenda Marie Osbey

2007 Honorary Muse Brenda Marie Osbey

Erato, the Muse of Poetry – Brenda Marie Osbey Brenda Marie Osbey, the Poet Laureate of the State of Louisiana, has taught numerous literature subjects around the country and has…

Meet the Muse ››
Becky Zaheri

2006 Honorary Muse Becky Zaheri

Urania, the Muse of Astronomy – Becky Zaheri Muse Becky Zaheri is the founder of the Katrina Krewe. The Katrina Krewe has organized over 1,000 volunteers to clean up the…

Meet the Muse ››
Charmaine Neville

2005 Honorary Muse Charmaine Neville

Euterpe, the Muse of Music – Charmaine Neville Charmaine Neville will be “Euterpe,” Muse of Music and Flutes. She was born into the third generation of New Orleans’ legendary musical…

Meet the Muse ››
Becky Allen

2004 Honorary Muse Becky Allen

The Krewe of Muses announced today, Becky Allen, “Miss Mardi Gras,” one of the most recognized icons of New Orleans will be “Thalia” Honorary Muse of Comedy 2004. She has…

Meet the Muse ››
Maria Giacobbe

2003 Honorary Muse Maria Giacobbe

Terpsichore, the Muse of Dance – Maria Giacobbe

Meet the Muse ››
Cherice Harrison-Nelson

2002 Honorary Muse Cherice Harrison-Nelson

Clio, the Muse of History – Cherice Harrison-Nelson

Meet the Muse ››
FLAG REDUX_400x400

5500 Prytania Street #621 New Orleans, LA 70115

phone: (504) 269-1422 email: info@kreweofmuses.org

© 2024 Krewe of Muses. Site made with ♥ by Aline.